Living With Allergies: Making My Own Dog Food

(Disclaimer: This blog post contains afiliate links, experiences and opinions are always my own. Check with your holistic veterinerian before adjusting your pets diet )

As I have mentioned on this blog before, our allergies do not only extend to all of the people in the household but also include one of my three rescues, Athena. She is the sweetest Rhodesian Ridgeback you will ever meet, mellow inside of the house, and full of energy as soon as she goes outside.

14d672_fb393977898341e0ac9bdcb397c9f2c0

Athena, when she was a puppy

She has an allergy to gluten not affecting her stomach and digestion,  but rather giving her the most uncomfortable rash and skin irritations that you can imagine. At one point during our search for finding her comfort, she had almost lost all of her fur and it was hard  to keep her from scratching herself raw.. On top of that she is allergic to fleas, some grasses, any type of household bug spray and some cleaners.

She is the reason we are living in a home without carpet, and in an area where her access to grass is limited and controlled.

5108vkYiWFL._SX384_BO1,204,203,200_Paleo Chef for Dogs: Homemade Gluten-Free Dog Food Recipes

One of the many things we have done to give her relief – which she has now all of her fur back and is back to her normal, beautiful energetic self – is that I make the dog food myself. Thankfully there are many websites, and books available now, which cover this subject, and even if it is time-consuming, it is worth it for me. Her comfort is above that little bit of extra effort.

I have collected a few links to recipes here,  so you can make some for your own dogs.

Question:

 Do you have a special needs pet you are taking care off? What are your experiences?

P.S. Thankfully the other dog in our home does not have any allergies, but during her surgery to be fixed, they nicked her bladder, which means as soon as she gets excited, she leaks. Poor baby, we love her no matter what.

Blessings!

Claudia

5 thoughts on “Living With Allergies: Making My Own Dog Food

  1. My cat, Lea, has special needs. She was traumatised before found by the shelter people and she is terrified by very loud noises and specific things like my vacuum cleaner. The first few weeks after she adopted me (erm, I mean I adopted her) were difficult, until the people from the shelter explained the circumstances they had found her. From that point, I treated her like someone who has PTSD (and she has all the signs). I adapted my lifestyle to accommodate her needs; I even bought a quieter vacuum cleaner. She is quite happy now, but the vacuum cleaner issue did not improve and potentially it may never improve. That’s okay, though.

Leave a Reply

