The Girl – A Five Sentence Flash Fiction

Flash Fiction: The Girl

The spunk in her eyes surprised me.
I thought the torture he had put her through would have already taken all of her will, broken her and made her a heap of injured flesh, but instead she looked at me as if she was about to take me on, with the determination to win.
I suppressed my smile, and the flicker of pride, to look professional, after all, our cover could not be blown.
How otherwise would I be able to save her from the monster, in whom’s hands she had fallen?
I reached out toward her, half expecting a move back, but also ready for her to attack, while I whispered, “Let me get you out of this hell.”

Copyright Claudia H. Blanton 2015

This post was inspired by this week’s Five Sentence Flash Fiction writing prompt “Spunk”, by Lillie McFerrin. Find out what others wrote this week here

Find your art on Redbubble

Leave a Reply

