Territorial – A Haiku

Haiku - Just A Drop

“Just A Drop” Copyright Claudia H. Blanton

invading my space
an action you will regret
anticipating

Copyright Claudia H. Blanton 2015

I don’t think I have ever been as territorial, as I have been since I lived in this condo. We share our outdoor grounds with the other residence, yet everyone has their own private little area outdoors, at least those who live downstairs like we do. But we own a corner condo, directly across from the pool, which means everyone passes by right in front of our eyes. Which in itself is not a problem, expect that they ALL cut through our patio. It seems as if the highly decorated area does not exist, the pretty stone bench becomes a mere obstacle, rather than our place to relax. At one point, I had a pretty little flower garden on the edge of what is supposed to be our space. After it had been trampled by other residents and the maintenance crew, I gave up. What was supposed to be our little sanctuary, was disregarded by others.

I am glad we are moving, even if it is in a place that is for now not our own. At least that way I am not given the illusion of ownership and territory. It does not belong to me, and that is fine.

Leave a Reply

