Allspice – An A to Z Challenge Post

A[1]

Welcome to the A to Z Challenge! This month’s theme is “A Quick A to Z Guide to Herbs And Spices”, in order to celebrate tomorrow’s release of my “Mixing Spices” book!

So without further delay, let’s talk food!

A to Z Challenge - Allspice

A – Allspice:

Even though this spice is known to have a hint of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, this is not a spice blend, but rather the dried unripe berry of a plant called Pimenta dioica.

Matches well with: turnips, sweet potatoes, grains, onions and corned beef. An important ingredient in Jamaican jerk spice blend

Health benefits: anti-inflammatory, anti-flatulent, increases the circulation of the skin and can be added to teas to stimulate appetite.

Magical Attributes: Associated with Mars and Fire. Useful in all healing mixtures. As oil and/or incense, it is often used to attract luck or money

(Disclaimer: The health benefits are for educational and entertainment purposes only. Please consult your health care professional for medical advice)

If you enjoyed this entry, why not check out my book

“Mixing Herbs – A Flavorful Guide To Creating Awesome Herb and Spice Mixes”

On Sale April 2nd 2015!

11 thoughts on “Allspice – An A to Z Challenge Post

  1. Oo, I like the “magical attributes” part! I’m always looking for good details for the magic systems I write, so I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on your posts.

    • Then I am glad I kept them in – I was actually reluctant about this, considering that I am not posting this on my Pagan blog, but rather on my business blog. Thanks for letting me know, it is of value to you – blessings!

  2. You cover almost everything anyone could want to know about Allspice. Thanks for dropping by and commenting on my blog. I’m going to follow this because I love your theme and love learning about spices… Lisa co-host AtoZ @lisabuiecollard.com

    • oh, how wonderful – I am also working on a fantasy series, when I am not writing on the kindle books. It is so much fun to connect with so many interesting Authors, like you! I am looking forward to reading your blog. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Oh! I was not aware of allspice being a berry. I thought it was a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

