The Wrong And The Right Way To Advertise Your Book On Twitter

Posting Twitter

I get it, you want us to read your book. I want people to read my stuff too. That is the reason we write, in order for someone to find our work and enjoy it, and hopefully share it with the world. Twitter is a great place to share your creations, and get people’s attention.

But there is a right way and a wrong way to advertise your book on Twitter.

Constant badgering your followers or those who follow a particular hashtag with requests and “read me!” advertising is a turn-off. I will, and I know quite a few people who will do so as well, ignore all of these requests. You heard me right ALL of them, and I am constantly on the lookout for books to review.

Do you want to change that? Then try this:

Instead, give your followers and fellow hashtag readers/writers something of value. Share tips, connect, have some meaningful conversation, and encourage – then, but only then, and only a few times in between, ask us to read your book.
Now, that I know you, now that I am interested in what you have to say, are the chances that I will buy your book or at least follow the link to check out the blurb you are offering a much larger one.
Simple, isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “The Wrong And The Right Way To Advertise Your Book On Twitter

  1. The constant barrage of nonsense tweets, especially when it comes to hashtags is terrible. I treat Twitter as a medium for social interaction. I want to interact with real people and exchange ideas or just talk. It’s easy to avoid following people with a constant stream of ad-tweets but the #amwriting and #amwritingfantasy hashtags are heavily abused, sometimes in the worst way.

    Thank you for posting this, it’s brilliant.

    • thank you! I actually hesitated for a moment to post this, but in the end I am glad I did. Many writers, and some marketing companies that post for writers have no clue about how to properly use social media platforms to efficiently grow a follower base and engage in a meaningful way. I will be writing more about this, in the near future.

      Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for retweeting it! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

