Express Yourself – Week of January 16th, 2015

Express Yourself Meme

This weeks “Express Yourself” prompt asks us about a musical of play we have viewed. Here is my answer to this interesting question:
It has been a long time since I have been to a play, or musical, if you don’t count my daughter’s performances with her former acting school.
The last “real”one I remember attending, was with my mother ten years ago in Germany. We went with her friend to a performance of a local theater group which performed a 1 hour play, that was written just for the occasion and was traditional Bavarian folklore. Funny and a little over the top, dressed as you probably imagined in lederhosen and the Dirndl, a specific dress worn to special ooccasionsin Bavaria, where I am from. To give you guys an idea what I am talking about, here is an image of what a stage in a play would look like:
Bayrisches_Volkskunsttheater_520x347_05520_347
I know the following example is in German, but it is still kind of interesting to watch, especially considering how different a traditional play here in the US is from a traditional play in southern Germany. Enjoy!

P.S. The video is from an older performance, but it was hard to find anything on YouTube that represented the type of play I was talking about.

Leave a Reply

