Flight – A Flash Fiction

Flight - A Flash Fiction

My heart took flight, the first time I saw his gentle eyes, glaring back at me, not sure what to make of me.
Should I be trusted, was I worth his attention, or was I like all of the others, who left him behind, heart-broken, and alone?
How could I make him understand, that I was different, that I cared so deeply, the pain of empathy and love leaving me breathless and paralyzed?
I would cherish all he was, with every breath we would both share – always.
I reached out, caressing his soft brown fur, as he began to relax.

Copyright Claudia H. Blanton 2014

This post was inspired by the Five Sentence Fiction Prompt – Flight.

Leave a Reply

