Invincible – A Daily Prompt Post

Today, Daily Prompt asked us this question:

At what age did you realize you were not immortal? How did you react to that discovery?

One of the aspects of being the victim of childhood abuse is, that you never have the luxury of thinking that you are invincible or immortal. You know very early on, that there are people more powerful than you, and they can do just about anything they want to with you. Fear becomes your constant companion, and if you are lucky, like I was, your vivid imagination becomes your best friend.
I am grateful for that, grateful that even life was too terrifying, too filled with potential landmines that could set him off, I developed my own stories, my own little life that no one could take away from me, no one but me knew about. A place where there are people who help one another, whom rescue those trapped by fear, and helped them overcome that which seemed too hard to lift on their own.
Aware of my vulnerability, I found immortality and invincibility in my stories.

Leave a Reply

