Dean Koontz: The City – A Review

The City - A Book Review

Title: The City: A Novel
Author: Dean Koontz
Release Date: July 1st, 2014
Rating: 3/5
Dean Koontz is one of the reasons I originally wanted to be a writer. I read his new releases in English, when I still needed a dictionary to completely understand every word. I did not care. I held my breath between releases, waiting for more, from whom I considered the Master, better even than Stephen King.

But things have changed. Unlike Steven King, who never let go off the quality work, always delivering as expected, Dean Koontz trailed off, leaving behind the gripping tales for something that reminds me more of a Sunday afternoon movie – it’s there, you are bored, so what the hell, why not?
I miss being gripped and pulled into the story as he managed to do in his earlier stories, boring me half way through, and following the peculiar and not welcoming trend of delivering a story in first person. That choice alone eliminates tension, and that is what I remember Dean to deliver – tension.

It is not an awful book, not by far, if you make it past the first few chapters, it does pick up on speed, but I honestly have read Indie and Newbie Authors who delivered a faster, more enticing story, with a more engaging cast, then Dean Koontz has in this book. Am I going to give away spoilers? No, the few that are in there have to carry you through the story, and are scattered far enough in between, that I mind as well, tell you not to bother reading it all.

If you are a hardcore Dean Koontz fan from before his Odd Thomas times, you will be disappointed. If you liked Odd Thomas (which I loath), then this might be for you.

3 thoughts on “Dean Koontz: The City – A Review

Leave a Reply

