T Is For Two Of A Kind (Book Review)

Book Review - Two Of A Kind

Title: Two Of A Kind

Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

Author: Susan Mallery

Genre: Romance

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN-13: 978-0-373-77768-6

This book was my introduction to Susan Mallery’s series centering around Fool’s Gold, California. Looking for a romance that was engaging and filled with quirky characters, I picked up this book upon a recommendation.

Sadly, I was not impressed.

While laced with funny interludes, both main characters as well as most of the additional characters fell short of their potential, with little depth, despite the promise of interesting background stories. As a wife of a war veteran, I wanted to like Gideon, emphasizing with the drama that war, and in his case being a prisoner of war leaves behind. That drama is a a deep one, leaving behind scars that for some never heal completely.

With that background story in mind, I was ready to like the main character, with and despite his flaws, but Susan failed to execute that potential enough, to keep me from feeling disconnected. Maybe it is because I entered the series in its middle, but it has been my experience with other series, that this does not have to be the case. Felicia, the female lead comes across as annoying at times, her lack of social skills irritating. She reminded me of all the aspects that I do not like about a television show featuring a highly intelligent woman “Bones”.

To be fair to Susan Mallery, I will pick up the first volume of the series to see if my impression would change, with a more intended introduction to the series. I will keep you updated. But as a stand alone novel, I would not recommend this book.

 

2 thoughts on “T Is For Two Of A Kind (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

