R Is For Retrospect

18th post for the A to Z Challenge! And what a challenge it has been so far!

I am using this opportunity to retrospect on the lessons learned from this marathon of blog posts, some of which are positive, others not so.

I shall begin with the positive:

  1. Connecting – How wonderful it is to meet so many new people, bloggers from many different backgrounds and blogging themes, all united in this challenge! I appreciate every one of you, those whom I met only briefly as well as those whom I had more intense conversations with. This is absolutely my favorite part of this blogging challenge, and the reason I will try to be back for next years adventure.
  2. New followers: I have gained quiet a few new followers, and I am so thankful for those of you, who chose to follow this blog over the last few weeks and days. From the bottom of my heart, thank you!
  3. Perserverance – There were sure moments where I wanted to stop, either because of all the other obligations that have to be done, no matter what, or because some letters where more difficult then others, specifically when I am trying to stick with the theme of film, television and books. But I did it anyway, and will finish all the way through to Z.

Lessons I learned along the way:

  1. Planning ahead – I am usually a rather impulsive blogger, I tend to write whatever exites me at the moment in the world of cinema, television, or what has just arrived on my shelf to be reviewed, but I have come to see the benefits of planning ahead, specifically when a blog theme is a part of the challenge. It is a lot harder to stick with the set theme in this A to Z framework then I originally thought.
  2. Set a word count limit – these are blog posts, not a novel, so instead of posting longer entries, I found that shorter blog posts are a better fit for challenges like this one.
  3. Limit blog surfing time – it is so easy to get caught up in the wonderful and large amount of blogs out there that participate in these challenges, but it is impossible to read all of them – I tried, well not all, but it is easy to get lost in the sheer amount of participants. Limiting the time or amount of blogs to visit each day is a really good idea.

Overall I am glad I participated in the challenge. While I have no idea what next year will bring, and what my schedule will be like then, I will at least consider participating again.

What did you learn from this challenge? What did you enjoy? What did you dislike the most?

6 thoughts on “R Is For Retrospect

  1. This sounds like a reflections post– we’re doing a day of reviewing the challenge on May 5th– please participate and give us your thoughts like you’ve done here.

Leave a Reply

