B is for Book Review: “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” by Mary Higgins Clark

ive_got_you

Title: I’ve Got You Under My Skin

Author: Mary Higgins Clark

Release Date: April 1st 2014

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

I’ve Got You Under My Skin has a promising story line.
A father gets killed in front of his son, the killer giving the young boy a chilling message for her mother, that he will go after her next. Five years later, the mother, Laurie Moran and son still await the killers return.
With a high profile job, Laurie makes a professional decision that brings her again in the path of the killer.

The book starts with the murder scene of the father, which feels rushed and lacks detail and suspense. It is over to quickly to produce real tension, and the killers responds to child, whom is very young, too young to make a reliable witness or messenger feels wrong. Who would give a toddler a message to give to his mother, after seeing the death of his father and expect it to actually arrive as intended?

The rest of the novel is entertaining, but continues not to live up to its full potential. Again rushed, I had the feeling that I was pushed through the plot, rather then guided. I am not familiar with most of Mrs. Clarks work, so I can not make the comparison with her other novels. This could be her style of writing, even though it was suggested to me, that her earlier novels where more in depth,felt less rushed and were an overall more enjoyable reads.

I prefer deeper developed plot lines, and less rushed subject matter, in which characters can evolve naturally, throughout the story. While this is not an entirely bad book, and I will not use it as a platform from which to dismiss this Author, I am hoping that her other stories are stronger books.

5 thoughts on “B is for Book Review: “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” by Mary Higgins Clark

  1. I also did a book review today – great minds! My mom used to love Mary Higgins Clark…I can tolerate her, but all of her books tend to follow the same formula. Good luck with the A to Z challenge!

  2. I’m with you, the best novels read like a quest, a journey, not a roller coaster or one of those things that you stand on in an airport and it moves you along without you having to use your legs.

    • The ones that make me sad are those who had such great potential with a plot line that could be awesome, and then they fall flat on their faces. Makes me want to shake a writer. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

