Evening Jam Session

Picture this:

A relaxing evening of quiet reading at home. Children are behaving at their best, playing on their various electronic devices in harmony. Then all of a sudden, the silence is disturbed by drumming.

Nothing against drumming. Hey I am Pagan, I love drum circles, and I used to play percussion in my younger days (okay I am not that old, but it’s been a while). I just did not expect to be granted a first row seat – granted I am separated from the scene by the thin walls of our condo –  to a jamming session. 

Four hours later

The sound dies off, and I begin to hear the shuffling and conversations move toward the front of the building. Mind you it is 11 pm now, the kids and I should have been going to bed, but the drumming had kept us annoyed and awake.

I peaked out of the window overlooking the parking lot, half expecting to find younger and middle aged people to expell themselves from the tiny condo next door. Instead, I was greeted by the shuffling of walkers, and various other people whom could easily be my grandparents. 

I could not help but chuckle at that sight, as I turned and went back into the living room, finally coaxing all of us to bed.

Lesson learned here: Age is nothing but a number. I admire anyone who does not allow the clock of this world to define the choices they make, despite their more advanced age. But I do hope they will schedule their next jamming session a little earlier in the day. 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/08/daily-prompt-neighbors/

Image

13 thoughts on “Evening Jam Session

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Best NEIGHbors in the World / Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  3. Pingback: There’s a space-ship in my neighbor’s garage | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: the blackberry is a gooseberry | litadoolan

  6. Pingback: the blackberry is a gooseberry | litadoolan

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | imagination

  8. Pingback: Axe-wielding landlady: a true story! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Good Fences? | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: Those People Next Door | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  13. Pingback: of good neighbors | Anawnimiss

Leave a Reply

