It – A Flash Fiction Horror Story

Today’s Question is: 

When was the last time you did something completely new and out of your element? How was it? Will you do it again?

Six months ago I gave myself a challenge, to write Flash Fiction. Before that I had not even attempted any type of short stories, I was not even a particular fan of this type of writing. But I wanted to challenge myself, expand what I usually write. And I discovered some really good flash fiction writers.

My first Flash Fiction was accepted by Chupra Chupra House Publishing, to my surprise. I have not stopped writing these little stories since. 

If I would not have tried something new, I would have missed out on the writing lessons I have learned through reading and creating them. 

The following is a story I want to share with you today:

It – A Flash Fiction Horror

“It really does not approve of males.”
“Are you sure about that?”
“Oh, I am very sure about that. It ate my boyfriend.”
“Seriously?” She paused looking around herself uncomfortably. “You do not seem to be broken up about it.”
Gina shrugged.
“I don’t know. Only thing I care about right now is to be here. Nothing else seem to matter that much.”
Her friend frowned.
“Are you sure that is a healthy way to react?”
“Why?” Gina yawned. ‘Why would I not want to be anywhere else? It is nice next to It. Look, I even have some food. Would you like some cookies?”
“No Gina, I would not like any. Sweetie, I think you should come home and we should talk to your Dad. As a cop he should know what we should do about Matt.”
“Do what about Matt? He is gone. So what? I am going to eat some of these cookies, they are tasty, not exactly sure what they are though.”
Mary eyed the cookies with distrust.
“I don’t think you should eat those. You are acting weird.”
“I am not acting weird.”
Gina frowned.
“Actually you are acting like you do not want me to be here.”
“Gina, I think we should go.”
“I am not going anywhere,” she smiled and took another bite of the small, delicate looking cookie.
“Seriously, I am leaving, and I am going to talk to your Dad…”
The ground open up quickly under the young woman, swallowing her up with such a quick completeness, that it was as if she never existed, closing just as fast.
Gina took another bite, and mumbled, “You are not going anywhere either.”

Copyright Claudia H. Blanton 2014

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/daily-prompt-new-2/

11 thoughts on “It – A Flash Fiction Horror Story

  1. Pingback: Challenging my inner terror | alienorajt

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Nude Modelling: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  4. Pingback: My First Book Reading | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: World’s Most Famous Quote | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

Leave a Reply

